Home

Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

Research & Development

Ombre2

The Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) is the natural process of evolution through which bacteria develop resistance when they are confronted to antibiotics, rendering the available treatments inoperative. There is therefore a balance to achieve between the development rate of bacterial resistance and the rate at which we develop new antibiotics, since the more we use them the less effective they become. However, the lack of market incentives and the scientific challenges met in developing new antibiotics have triggered a divestment of many pharmaceutical companies towards other therapeutic fields, causing the development of new antibiotics to stall in the last decades.

Today we are reaching a point where the resistance is threatening to leave us short of therapeutic options against infections by increasingly resistant pathogens such as the carbapenem resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) and Pseudomonas aeruginosa. In the US alone more than 2 million people a year are subject to antibiotic-resistant infections causing more than 23 000 dead. In Europe the death toll reaches 25 000 per year. By 2050 if the AMR issue is not tackled we could have 10 million deaths a year according to the most recent estimates.

Innovative antibiotics are urgently needed to provide treatment against the most worrying resistant pathogens. But if we consider the bigger picture there is also a strong need for controlling the use of antibiotics and providing alternatives to antibiotics as they are used today.

ANTIBIOTHERAPY

The rise in bacterial resistance to antibiotics: a public health challenge

The rise in bacterial resistance to antibiotics today constitutes a public health challenge. The lack of R&D investment in the sector for decades has led to pipeline attrition, and the widespread use of available antibiotics has fostered the emergence of resistant bacteria, against which we have treatments that are increasingly less effective.

Read more

mutabilis_antivirulence

ANTIVIRULENCE

An innovative approach against the  resistance to antibiotics

The new class of antibiotics are those best placed to compensate for the loss of activity in older treatments rendered ineffective by the evolution of resistance. But in a global approach, it is also important to control the use of antibiotics and encourage the development of all alternatives that allow for decreased reliance on antibiotic treatments. Ideally, these approaches would not exert evolutionary pressure susceptible to causing the emergence of resistance. And they would allow for reliance on antibiotics to be limited to the most serious cases.

Read more

MUTABILIS, the INSERM’s Spin-Off

Founded in 2001, MUTABILIS is a spin-off of INSERM, based on the work of Professor Xavier Nassif’s team, pioneer in the identification of virulence genes in the Neisseria Meningitidis. These studies were then transposed to all Gram – bacteria, then to Gram+ bacteria.

Read more

News

Ombre2

Home

Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

Recherche & Développement

Ombre2

La Résistance aux Anti-Microbiens (RAM) est la réponse évolutive naturelle des bactéries lorsqu’elles sont en présence de ces traitements. Ils deviennent alors inefficaces. Le rythme d’apparition de la résistance doit donc être contrebalancé par le développement de nouveaux antibiotiques, car c’est en les utilisant et en provoquant l’apparition de résistance qu’ils perdent leur efficacité. Cependant le manque de perspectives économiques et les difficultés scientifiques rencontrées pour développer des antibiotiques innovants ont conduit de nombreux laboratoires à se recentrer sur d’autres domaines thérapeutiques et à abandonner les antibiotiques.

Aujourd’hui nous nous retrouvons à court de traitement pour soigner des infections causées par des pathogènes de plus en plus résistants tels que les Entérobactéries résistantes aux carbapenèmes et Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Aux Etats-Unis, 2 millions de personnes sont touchés chaque année par des infections à pathogènes résistants. 23 000 personnes en meurent. En Europe, ce sont 25 000 morts par an. D’après les estimations les plus récentes, si la montée de la Résistance aux Anti-Microbiens n’est pas endiguée nous pourrions avoir 10 millions de morts par an en 2050.

Nous avons un besoin critique d’antibiotiques innovants pour combattre les pathogènes les plus dangereux, mais nous avons aussi besoin de mieux contrôler l’usage que nous faisons de ces médicaments, et de favoriser les approches alternatives aux antibiotiques.

ANTIBACTERIEN

L’augmentation de la résistance bactérienne face aux antibiotiques : un défi de santé publique

L’augmentation de la résistance bactérienne face aux antibiotiques constitue aujourd’hui un défi de santé publique. Le manque d’investissement R&D dans le domaine durant des décennies a provoqué l’attrition des pipelines, et l’utilisation large des antibiotiques disponibles a favorisé l’apparition de bactéries résistantes contre lesquelles nous avons de moins en moins de traitements efficaces.

En savoir plus

mutabilis_antivirulence

ANTIVIRULENCE

Une approche innovante contre la résistance aux antibiotiques

Les antibiotiques de nouvelle classe sont les mieux placés pour pallier la perte d’activité des traitements plus anciens, rendus inefficaces par l’évolution de la résistance. Mais dans une approche globale il est tout aussi important de contrôler l’utilisation faite des antibiotiques et de favoriser le développement de toutes alternatives permettant de diminuer le recours aux traitements antibiotiques. Dans l’idéal ces approches n’exercent pas de pression de sélection susceptible d’entrainer l’apparition de résistance. Et elles permettent de limiter le recours aux antibiotiques pour les cas les plus sérieux.

En savoir plus

MUTABILIS

est une spin-off de l’INSERM, issue des travaux de l’équipe du Pr Xavier NASSIF, précurseur dans l’identification des gènes de la virulence chez Neisseria Meningitidis. Ces travaux ont ensuite été transposés à l’ensemble des bactéries Gram- puis aux bactéries Gram+.

En savoir plus

Actualités

Ombre2